top of page

Available Classes

Rifle Bullets

Concealed Carry


The sheriff shall issue a permit within 90 days after receipt of a complete application to an applicant who:
• is a citizen of the U.S. and has been a resident of the State for at least 30 days immediately prior to filing the application;
• is at least 21;
• does not suffer from a physical or mental infirmity that prevents the safe handling of a handgun;
• has successfully completed an approved firearms safety and training course which involves the actual firing of handguns and instruction in the law governing the carrying of a concealed handgun and the use of deadly force;
• is not ineligible under federal or state law to possess, receive, or own a firearm;
• is not currently or has not been adjudicated or administratively determined to be lacking mental capacity or mentally ill;
• has not been discharged from the armed forces under conditions other than honorable;
• is or has not been adjudicated guilty or judgment continued or suspended sentence for a violent misdemeanor;
• has not had judgment continued for or free on bond or personal recognizance pending trial, appeal, or sentencing for a disqualifying criminal offense;
• has not been convicted of an impaired driving offense within three years prior to the date on which the application is submitted.

Course Outline

•Course must be 8 hours minimum.* (Not including breaks, lunch or range time)

•2 out of 8 hours must be legal block of instruction.*

•Cover both Revolvers and Semiautomatic pistols.*

•Qualification Course:

*NC standards 30 rounds, 10 from each distance. 3 yards, 5 yards, 7 yards.

--KFT’s Standards 60 rounds, 10 from each distance. 3,5,7,9,12,15 yards.

    *NC LAW

•Correctly Identify firearms that can not be carried Concealed.

•Correctly identify proper identifications to carrying a concealed handgun.

•Describe what to do if pulled over by a law enforcement officer if you have a concealed carry.

•List 10 locations where concealed handgun permits does not allow possession of a concealed handgun.

•State and legal consequences  of alcohol and illegal controlled substance use on the permit to carry a concealed handgun.

•Describe and apply the four elements of the law of justified self defense.

•State and apply the law on when the duty to retreat allows use of deadly force.

•Describe the penalties provided for violating the carrying concealed handgun statute.

•Describe the duty of care required by law for safe handling and use of a handgun.

•Describe when deadly force can be used to intervene on behalf of another person who is being threatened.

•Describe the instigator rule.

•Describe when deadly force may be lawfully used to expel a trespasser, prevent theft of property, prevent criminal escape, and stop a simple assault.

•Discuss three common mistakes in using a handgun that causes legal problems

Image by Bo Harvey

Basic Pistol (Ages 12+)


North Carolina law prohibits any person under the age of 18 from willfully and intentionally possessing or carrying a handgun, unless the minor:

  • Possesses the handgun for educational or recreational purposes while supervised by an adult who is present;

  • Is emancipated and possesses the handgun inside his or her residence; or

  • Possesses the handgun while hunting outside the limits of an incorporated municipality and has written permission from a parent or guardian.


There is no minimum age to possess rifles and shotguns in North Carolina.

It is a misdemeanor in North Carolina for any person to knowingly permit a child under age 12 to have access to, or possession, custody, or use in any manner of any firearm, whether loaded or unloaded, unless the person has the permission of the child’s parent or guardian, and the child is under the supervision of an adult.


Additionally, North Carolina prohibits any person from causing, encouraging, or aiding a minor who is less than age 18 to possess or carry, whether openly or concealed, any firearm on educational property.


Moreover, subject to very limited exceptions, North Carolina imposes a felony on any person who sells, offers for sale, gives or transfers a handgun to a person under the age of 18

Course Outline:

Part I: Safety

•Basic Firearm Safety

•Safe Firearm Storage

Part II: Pistol Mechanisms and Operation

•Pistol Parts and how they work

•Semi-auto pistol parts and how they work

•Operating double and single action semi-auto pistols

•Revolver parts and how they work

•Operating double and single action revolvers

•Ammunition Fundamentals

•Popular Pistol Cartridges

Part III: Building Pistol Shooting Skills

•Fundamentals of pistol shooting

•Fundamentals of Pistol Shooting Positions

•The benchrest Position

•Standing Pistol Shooting Position

•One hand Shooting Position

•Common Pistol Shooting Errors

•Clearing Common Pistol Stoppages

Part IV: Pistol Maintenance, Selection and use

•Selecting Pistols, Ammo, and Accessories

•Cleaning and Maintaining your Pistol

•Pistol Shooting Activities and Skill Development

Part V: Range


Part VI: Exam

•Exam of everything we went over in class

bottom of page